Focus on 400m sprinters on Day-Two of National Inter State Senior Athletics Championships « Athletics Federation of India


Haryana’s 24 years old promising 400m sprinter Kiran Pahal, continued her good run in the 63rd National Inter State Senior Athletics Championships.

Punjab’s Gurindervir Singh and Sneha SS of Karnataka emerged fastest male and female athletes of the competition which is the last domestic competition to achieve Paris Olympic Games qualification mark.

The day after booking a ticket to Paris in the individual 400m event, Kiran stamped her authority on the track by winning gold. Running in lane 5, the Haryana sprinter was clear winner at the 200m mark of the race. Her gold winning time of 50.92 seconds was better than the meet record of 51.13 seconds set by Assam’s sprinting prodigy Hima Das in 2018 in Guwahati. Kiran had also clocked 50.92 seconds in the semis on Thursday.

The men’s 400m race was exciting. Kerala’s Muhammed Anas outdueled Muhammed Ajmal (Kerala) to win gold. Both had a similar time of 45.93 seconds but Anas was declared winner.

Away from track, Maharashtra’s thrower Abha Khatua claimed gold in women’s shot put with a throw of 17.63m. Abha has a bright chance to qualify for the Paris Olympic Games via Road to Paris ranking.

Both Karnataka and Tamil Nadu women’s 4x100m relay teams dipped below the previous meet record of 45.69 seconds set by Tamil Nadu.



100m: Gurindervir Singh (Punjab) 10.32 seconds, Animesh Kujur (Odisha) 10.46 seconds, Amlan Borgohain (Assam) 10.49 seconds.

400m: Muhammed Anas (Kerala) 45.93 seconds, Muhammed Ajmal (Kerala) 45.93 seconds, Mohit Kumar (Haryana) 46.15 seconds.

1500m: Parvej Khan (Haryana) 3:42.95 seconds, Yoonus Shah (Uttar Pradesh) 3:43.88 seconds, Mehedi Hassan (Assam) 3:44.40 seconds.

Discus: Nirbhay Singh (Haryana) 55.44m, Gagandeep Singh (Punjab) 53.33m, Oinam Singh (Manipur) 52.09m.


100m: Sneha SS (Karnataka) 11.62 seconds, Giridharani Ravi Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 11.77 seconds, Nithya Gandhe (Telangana) 11.79 seconds

400m: Kiran Pahal (Haryana) 50.92 seconds (MR), Deepanshi (Haryana) 52.01 seconds, Dandi Jyothika Sri (Andhra Pradesh) 52.11 seconds.

1500m: Lili Das (West Bengal) 4:13.87 seconds, KM Chanda (Delhi) 4:14.85 seconds, KM Deeksha (Madhya Pradesh) 4:18.38 seconds.

Shot put: Abha Khatua (Maharashtra) 17.63m, Kachnar Chaudhary (Rajasthan) 16.76m, Srishti Vig (Delhi) 15.11m.

Pole vault: Rosy Paulraj (Tamil Nadu) 4.00m, Pavithra Venkatesh (Tamil Nadu) 4.00m, Mariya Jaison (Kerala) 3.90m.

Triple jump: Sheena V (Kerala) 13.44m, Pavithra G (Karnataka) 13.20m, Mallala Anusha (Andhra Pradesh) 13.09m

Javelin: Annu Rani (Uttar Pradesh) 57.70m, Ramyashree Jain (Karnataka) 53.14m, Rashmi K (Andhra Pradesh) 52.39m.


Women: 4x100m relay: Karnataka (45.38 seconds), Tamil Nadu (45.40 seconds), Odisha (46.65 seconds).

4x400m: Andhra Pradesh 3:41.84 seconds, Punjab 3:44.23 seconds, Delhi 3:53.96 seconds.

Men: 4x100m relay: Odisha 40.02 seconds, Punjab 40.50 seconds, Tamil Nadu 40.88 seconds.

4x400m relay: Haryana 3:08.00 seconds, Tamil Nadu 3:08.62 seconds, Punjab 3:09.07 seconds.

Source link

Contact us for guest post at